Hope Country Club Hosts Watermelon 4-Ball, Club Championship

The Hope Country Club hosted two outstanding golf events, despite exceptionally hot weather, over the weekends of August 11-12 and 19-20. Sixty-five two-man teams entered the annual Watermelon 4-Ball, held on Friday and Saturday of the Watermelon Festival, with many of the golfers coming not only from out-of-town, but also from other states — as far away as Iowa. The following weekend, local golfers competed in the two-day Club Championship.

In the Championship Flight of the Club Championship, Garrett Davis won in a sudden-death playoff against Blake Santifer, both having scored a two-day total of 137. Santifer was second and Chris Short third, with 146. In the Seniors Flight, Dean Davis came in first with 149; Gary Peters placed second with 150; and Jeff May third with 160. In the Super Seniors, aged 65 and older, Jerry Pruden was first with 151; Mike Nelson was second with 155; and Danny Putman third with 158.

Hope Country Club golfers will compete with Magnolia golfers in a third consecutive weekend of competition, Ryder Cup style, this Saturday and Sunday, August 26 and 27 at the Hope Country Club.

The Watermelon 4-Ball, with 65 teams, consisted of 6 flights, paying four places in the first four flights and three places in the last two flights. Winners were:

Championship Flight – Following a four-way tie at 125, Blake Santifer and Preston Tuberville won the playoff for first place against Garrett Davis and Brendan Little, while the teams of Chris Short/Jordan Short and Colby Light/Logan McDonald tied for third.

In the 4-Ball 1st Flight, Jeremy Stroud and Collin Purifoy took first with 129; Jay East and Shane Malone were second with 131; Austin O’Donnell and Paul Bogus came in third with 132; and Tyler Doucet and Lee Doucet were fourth with 134.

2nd Flight — Cord McMahen and Vance Jordan tied the team of Austin Morgan/Bodie Phillips for first, with scores of 136; and Hank Crain and Tommy Poole tied with Zac Hoglund/Jordan Estes for third with scores of 137.

3rd Flight — The team of Jerry McAfee/Shane Mayfield came in first with 140; Merritt Shepherd/Stephen Rivard were second with 141; and Sam O’Donnell/Jerry Modisette at 143 won third in a card-off with Danny Putman/Larry Thompson, also at 143 for fourth.

4th Flight, Boone Butler/Ryan Stout won first place, with Dalton O’Donnell/Bryce Szachevits, second, and Shine Waller/Cole Bradley, third after card-off — all with 148.

5th Flight — Tommy Bruce/Jeff Burns took first place and Ray Bruce/Matt Bruce second after card-off at 153. Kent Estes/Ryan Estes were third and Mason May/Buddy May fourth after card-off, with 154 each.

Pictured are winners of the Hope Country Club Championship, (from left) Super Senior Jerry Pruden, Club Champion Garrett Davis, and Senior Dean Davis.